“woman sitting in front of door” by Ryan Whitlow on Unsplash

But what if it’s NOT PPD?

Sarah K

--

“So, what brings you in today?” the doctor asked.

“Well, there are some people in my life who say I’m not myself. That I sound negative and angry, so I thought I’d come in and get checked.” I replied, feeling silly but holding back tears, while bouncing my nearly 8 month old baby on my lap.

“Are you getting enough sleep?” she asked.

I laughed. “No, my baby is not a good sleeper. She wakes every hour or so. And I’m a light sleeper to begin with.”

She went through a few more questions: was I anxious about going back to work, was I bonding alright with baby, was I feeling overly emotional?

Yes, yes and yes.

“Well it sounds like a classic case of postpartum depression,” she said. She wrote me up a prescription for antidepressants, went through all the potential side effects and gave me a very clinical “if you feel suicidal, call someone”.

She told me to start taking the medication immediately and come back to see her in two weeks.

I left feeling very overwhelmed. I didn’t want to take pills. Was I seriously suffering from depression? Should I call a therapist? I had so many questions, and my doctor (a new one I’d only seen a couple of times before) didn’t seem to want to explore any other options.

--

--

Sarah K

Business Growth Strategist | Speaker | Podcast Host | Human — I speak my truth and hold space for you to do the same.